MIM and Azure AD Connect – two sides of the same coin?

Azure AD Connect is just MIM (Microsoft Identity Manager) with a different hat on, isn’t it? No! Anyone who approaches Azure AD Connect like this may well come unstuck.

Join us for a webinar on 20 June 2018 to learn more about the differences between MIM and Azure AD Connect, and why they matter.

MIM vs. Azure AD Connect Webinar 20 June - register now

Azure AD Connect is based on MIM and looks a lot like MIM – and it would be easy to fall into the trap of thinking that they are the same. But they are not. Azure AD Connect has been substantially re-engineered and it is vital to understand the differences in order to avoid sub-optimal implementations.

What are the differences between MIM and Azure AD Connect? There are too many to list here – but, for example, MIM and Azure AD Connect have different mechanisms for backup, restore and disaster recovery, and the configuration of high availability is also different.

One of the most profound differences is the synchronization model. Not only does Azure AD Connect have declarative rules, it has a totally different mechanism for joining, provisioning and deprovisioning. So, if you want to synchronize objects that will be used to authenticate and authorize users of your cloud resources, you really need to understand how Azure AD Connect works.

This does not mean that Azure AD Connect is more complicated or inferior to MIM – quite the opposite in fact. These differences are there to make it easier to support, and quicker to recover in the event of a disaster.

In this webinar, the expert team who wrote the new Azure AD Connect Masterclass – Andreas Kjellman (formerly MIM and Azure AD Connect Program Manager for Microsoft), Jimmy Andersson (MVP Enterprise Mobility), Hugh Simpson-Wells (CEO, Oxford Computer Group) and James Cowling (CTO, Oxford Computer Group) – will:

  • Discuss the differences between Azure AD Connect and MIM – synchronization, configuration, automatic updates, reverse join, soft join, sticky join etc – and why they matter.
  • Answer general questions about Azure AD Connect – either submitted during the webinar or in advance here.

If you’re interested in transferring your MIM skills to Azure AD Connect, or if you want to learn more about how to optimise your Azure AD Connect implementation, you won’t want to miss this webinar!

DATE Wednesday, June 20, 2018
TIME 8am PST | 11am EST | 4pm BST | 5pm CET
DURATION 45 minutes

MIM vs. Azure AD Connect Webinar 20 June - register now

Can’t make the live webinar broadcast? Sign up anyway and we’ll send you a link to the recording.